Home >> News >> Government >> Wells Fargo Takes Top Spot for Commercial, Multifamily Originations
Print This Post Print This Post

Wells Fargo Takes Top Spot for Commercial, Multifamily Originations

The ""Mortgage Bankers Association"":http://www.mbaa.org/default.htm (MBA) released a report Friday that ranked mortgage giant ""Wells Fargo"":https://www.wellsfargo.com/ last year's top commercial and multifamily mortgage originator.

[IMAGE]

The trade group offered a set of comprehensive listings responsible for tracking originations by different investor groups.

Wells Fargo snagged mentions in several listings, including those for commercial banks, savings

[COLUMN_BREAK]

institutions, ""Fannie Mae"":http://www.fanniemae.com/portal/index.html, ""Ginnie Mae"":http://www.ginniemae.gov/, the ""Federal Housing Administration"":http://portal.hud.gov/hudportal/HUD?src=/program_offices/housing/fhahistory, Real Estate Investment Trusts, and other investors.

""JPMorgan Chase"":http://www.jpmorganchase.com/corporate/Home/home.htm took the top spot as an originator for commercial mortgage-backed securities. MetLife Real Estate Investments came in first as an originator for life insurance companies.

""CBRE Capital Markets Inc."":http://capitalmarkets.cbre.com/ originated the most loans for ""Freddie Mac"":http://www.freddiemac.com/, while HFF placed first for credit companies and Mesa West Capital ranked first for specialty finance.

Measuring by dollar volume, the MBA said that the top five originators for third parties last year included Wells Fargo, HFF, ""Meridian Capital Group"":http://www.meridiancapital.com/, CBRE Capital Markets, and ""Northmarq Capital"":http://www.northmarq.com/.

The top five lenders in 2011 included Wells Fargo, MetLife Real Estate Investments, ""PNC Real Estate"":https://www.pnc.com/webapp/unsec/RealEstateFinanceHP.do?siteArea=/PNC/Home/Corporate+and+Institutional/PNC+Real+Estate/Commercial+Real+Estate+Home&WT.mc_id=REFIM2009_Offline_0007, ""Deutsche Bank Commercial Real Estate"":http://www.cre.db.com/, and Prudential Mortgage Capital.

The report, titled _Commercial Real Estate/Multifamily Finance Firms ├â┬ó├óÔÇÜ┬¼├óÔé¼┼ô Annual Origination Volumes_, tallies origination volumes in more than 140 categories, such as by role, investor group, property type, and more, according to the MBA.

About Author: Ryan Schuette

Ryan Schuette is a journalist, cartoonist, and social entrepreneur with several years of experience in real-estate news, international reporting, and business management. He currently lives in the Washington, D.C., area, where he freelances for DS News and MReport.
x

Check Also

2020 Lifetime Achievement Recipient Announced

During the first day of the Five Star Virtual Conference, a industry veteran was recognized for a distinguished career and broad impact on colleagues, employees, and friends. Click through to see who this year’s award goes to.

GET THE NEWS YOU NEED, WHEN YOU NEED IT.

With daily content from MReport, you’ll never miss another important headline in originations, lending, or servicing. Subscribe to MDaily to begin receiving a complimentary daily email containing the top mortgage news and market information.